It is best to delete an ad account on Facebook if you’re no longer running ads for your business. But how to delete Facebook ad account? It only takes a few minutes to delete a Facebook ad account, which is similar to closing or deactivating it.
Go to the Ads Manager Settings, click Deactivate Ad Account under the Business Payments heading, explain to Facebook why you’re doing it, and then click Deactivate Ad Account.
Keep reading and learn step by step guide on deleting your ads account on Facebook.
Can You Delete An Ad Account On Facebook?
A Facebook ad account can only be closed or deactivated; it cannot be permanently deleted. In this article, we’ll use the terms “deleting a Facebook Ad account” interchangeably to refer to the same action.
Therefore, when we use the terms “deleting,” “closing,” and “deactivating,” we mean the same thing.
How To Delete A Facebook Ad Account?
Only if you don’t have any immediate plans to run an ad campaign should you deactivate your Facebook Ad account. You don’t have to completely deactivate the ad account if you want to pause a specific advertisement because you want to run a different ad campaign. Simply put, pause the advertisement and start a new one.
Even though “deleting” isn’t synonymous with “deactivating” or “closing,” people often refer to ad account deactivation as ad account deletion. Here’s what to do.
Step 1: Navigate To Ads Manager Settings
Navigate to the Ads Manager Settings. To get there, though, you’ll need to know how to access Facebook.
- On your Facebook page, you will find Ad Center on the left panel. It’s under Insights. Click that. You will be taken to the Ad Center page.
- Still on the left panel, under Ad Center, click All ads.
- You will see this text on the page: Show more details in Ads Manager. “Ads Manager” is clickable and will direct you to the Ads Manager page.
- When you are already in Ads Manager, click the settings icon in the lower-left corner of the screen.
Step 2: Click “Deactivate Ad Account” In The Business Payments Section
On the Ads Manager Settings page, which is also the Ads Manager Setup page, you will see two sections: Business payments and Ad account roles.
The option to deactivate an ad account is in the Business payments section. At the bottom of the section, you will see the Deactivate Ad Account link.
To delete a Facebook ad account, click the Deactivate Ad Account link.
Step 3: State The Reason Why You Want To Deactivate The Ad Account
You’re not required to provide any reason you are deactivating the ad account, but you may want to tell them why to help Facebook understand your case. You could choose from the list of possible reasons they provided, or you could also state your reason in Other.
You will now be prompted with a confirmation question before deactivating the ad account. Deactivating an ad account will not permanently delete it, but your payment methods will be removed, and you won’t be able to run any ads. If your decision is final, click the Deactivate Ad Account button.
Step 4: Click “Deactivate Ad Account”
Once you click Deactivate Ad Account, you need to wait up to two business days before it takes effect. Before removing your payment method, Facebook will charge you for any unpaid balance.
What Will Happen When Closing Facebook Ad Account?
You can still view a closed Facebook Ad account and reactivate it if you ever need it again.
You will be charged for any remaining balance on your Facebook account if you decide to delete it. When you close your Facebook Ad Account, all of your advertisements will stop running. It will not allow you to start a fresh campaign.
Your payment information and card information will be deleted from Facebook. Your credit card cannot possibly be used fraudulently by anyone.
Also Read: How To Run A Facebook Birthday Discount Ad?
Why Can’t You Delete A Facebook Ad Account?
The fact that you can only deactivate or close a Facebook Ad account rather than completely delete it must be emphasized. Here are some things to consider if you’re having problems closing your Facebook ad accounts:
- You must be the administrator of the Facebook page in order to deactivate or close the Facebook ad account.
- You must also be the owner of the Business Manager account if you want to close your Facebook Ad Account. You must actually own the account; simply being able to access the account is not enough.
- If you are unable to pay the balance due with the credit card associated with your account, Facebook cannot close the Ad Account.
Frequently Asked Questions
If You Delete Your Facebook Advertising Account, Can You Create A New One?
Yes, but not really in the sense of making new Facebook ad accounts. Although closing a Facebook ad account (which is actually just deactivation, not permanent deletion) won’t increase the alleged Facebook ad account creation limit, you will still be able to open the same number of Ad Accounts.
Why Can’t I Delete A Facebook Ad Account From Facebook Business Manager?
There are three main reasons why you might not be able to delete the Facebook ad account. 1. The Facebook Ad Account is not administered by you. 2. With the Facebook Business Manager, you merely have access to the Facebook Ad Account; it is not yours. 3. You don’t have enough money to use the credit card you’ve added to the Facebook Ad Account to cover the account’s outstanding balance.
Can You Permanently Delete A Facebook Ad Account?
No, you can only deactivate the Facebook Ad Account. If Facebook doesn’t disable it for policy violations, you can reactivate the Ad Account whenever you like.
Final Words: How To Delete Facebook Ad Account?
If Facebook Ads aren’t the best choice for you any longer, it’s crucial to take the time to learn how to delete your account. Luckily, it’s a straightforward process that can be done without too much difficulty
It should be noted that a Facebook page can only have one ad account that is owned by one user and is managed by a maximum of 25 users. However, it is not possible to deactivate your ad account and then activate a new one to start over.
You May Also Like: